twocents.lifehacker.com

Photo: Virrage Images (Shutterstock) Aside from the obvious danger, getting behind the wheel while drunk can be one of the costliest financial mistakes you’ll ever make. A first-time DUI costs an average of $6,500 per driver, although that can easily climb up to $30,000, depending on a few factors. Here’s a look at how a DUI affects your wallet. Why DUI costs vary If your first DUI involves a high blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or an accident, then your total cost will be higher than other first DUI offenses. Where you live matters, too—some states have minimum fines for first offenders that are closer to $1500 (Oregon, Alaska, Utah) and other states have minimums that cost $0 (Illinois, Indiana, Missouri), according to Finder.com . Your age is also a factor, both for what is an unacceptable BAC (some states have “zero tolerance” laws for drivers under 21, which means they can be charged for a lower BAC than the typical threshold of 0.08) and for potential insurance costs. Court-related costs After you get arrested for a DUI, police will take you to the police station to be photographed and fingerprinted. After that, you will be released if someone can pick you up and pay your bail, although some states require mandatory jail time, even for first-time drunk driving offenders—typically a day or two. Per the American Addiction Centers , the typical legal costs are listed below: If you’re in a state with mandatory jail time, the bail or bond […]